Mayor & Council

Current Members

The City Council is composed of six members, the mayor and five council members. All positions are elected at large to serve a two year term. The mayor and council places four and five are elected on even number years, with council places one, two, and three elected on odd number years. The mayor and council provide leadership and direction establishing policies and goals for the community. The council sets the tax rate, approves and adopts the annual budget, and appoints the city administrator.

The city administrator oversees the day-to-day operations of the city to ensure the city is managed in an efficient manner. The city administrator responds to citizens complaints, hires staff, and recommends the annual budget. He or she implements the policies adopted by the city council through the department heads and staff.


The City Council meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm at the Old Movie House located at 255 W Main, all meetings are open to the public and everyone is encouraged to attend the monthly meetings to stay informed about what is happening within the Van community.